Wednesday Hodgepodge

Please click the pic above to go to Joyce’s blog and get all the detailed to join us in the Wednesday Hodgepodge.

1. St. Patrick’s Day will be celebrated this coming Saturday. What’s a favorite article of clothing you own that contains a touch o’ the green?

I love green, I have a lot of green yarn and I have a green bag and a green top that I will probably wear on Saturday when we are going to a “Thirty One” Bag party at a friend’s house. We may also go have dinner at a cute local bar to celebrate.

2. What’s a favorite ‘green space’ in the town, state or province where you live?

We have become part of a community garden in our city. It’s a lovely garden thru the YMCA and seniors are able to rent a garden space for the year. This is all new to us, but we hope to have lots of fresh veggies and tons of tomatoes this year.

3. Do you wish you were taller, shorter, or think you’re just about right in the height department?

I’m pretty tall for a woman, I’m 5′ 9″ and was always the tall one in school until I hit high school and then there were some taller boys. It bothered me sometimes at that age, it was harder to fit in, but now I love my height and wouldn’t change it.

4. What’s the surest way for someone to pick a fight with you?

I’ve never been in a fight, but I will have words with you if I see you do something blatantly wrong or mean-spirited. I have a brother in a wheelchair and I was the kid who would call you out if you did something mean toward my brother. Staring is one thing, but don’t make faces or say something mean. 

5. Broccoli-spinach-string beans-peas…of the four your favorite green veg? (Or the one you dislike the least if that first option is too hard for you. I know there are some veggie haters out there).

I love them all and will be planting them all except broccoli because it takes up a lot of room. My favorite is the peas. Nothing like eating raw peas out of the garden! 

6. March is National Women’s History Month…besides friends, neighbors, and the women you’re related to, who’s a woman in history you admire and why?

I’m reading a story about Olive Oatman and the Oatman Massacre. She was taken to live with the Mohave’s and from what I’ve read she was an amazing woman. 

7. Keep calm and ___________on. You fill in the blank.

KNIT! Of course, right? You know i’d put that. Knitting keeps you calm and it’s meditative and creative and a true passion. I wish everyone could find something that makes them so happy.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I made this Coconut Caramel Cake yesterday and I thought I’d share the recipe because it was really good and so easy to make. You bake the cake and then add this “frosting” and then put it under the broiler to brulee. I cooked the cake in a 9×13 metal pan. The recipe shows it made in a glass dish, but I was afraid to put our glass dishes under the broiler. I also will next time turn down the oven to 325 degrees. It cooked well but the bottom got a little dark in 35 minutes. One other change is the coconut topping called for 1 1/2 cup brown sugar which seemed a tad excessive to me so I only put 1 cup brown sugar. It was yummy and tested out by my friends at knit night. They agreed that the topping was good w/less brown sugar.  Enjoy!
5 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge

  1. I LOVE the idea of having a community garden where you get your own space to beautify the area. That is awesome. Your #4 is a wonderful, for lack of better word…’tribute’ to your brother. You are without a doubt a good sister!!! I have a grandson that has Down Syndrome, and I know what you mean about the staring —but, make fun of him verbally….you don’t know the wrath of a grandmother.

  2. Yay! Another knitter!!! So glad you stopped by my blog! I’m going to use the skeins I bought to make socks. They’re my passion. I just finished a pair but can’t post until the recipient receives them…probably in a couple of days.

    Enjoyed reading your answers. Sure do wish I was as tall as you!!!!

A comment is much appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

