Obsessed

Pinterest is so wonderful and I’m obsessed. Obsessed with ideas of things to do. I find the most interesting things on there. Great recipes, fashion ideas, beauty items, decorating inspirations… I find myself going on pinterest and then going on to a blog, which leads me to other sites. So here’s a few things I wanted to tell you about that I found on pinterest this week. (Please add me on pinterest, i’m mitchypoo777)

Spectrum Chia Seeds

Chia Seeds

I saw these dark little seeds on pinterest and had to know what it was all about. Yes, these are the seeds they use for Chia Pets, but these are edible and are a Super Superfood! Here is some info about the health qualities of eating chia seeds.  So I’ve started using them because they are healthy and help promote weight loss. I’ve developed a little routine with them in the morning. I put 8 oz. of warm water in a glass and add 1 Tbsp. of chia seeds and about 1-2 tsp of honey and stir. Then I let it sit for about 10 minutes. The seeds swell up and get gel like. Looks odd and I wasn’t sure I could take the texture but it’s really not a big deal. So after 10 minutes I wash my face but I put about 1 Tbsp. of the chia/water mixture in my hands and put on my face as a mask. Then I brush my teeth and do whatever else I need to let the chia mask stay on for a while. Then I wash it off and you won’t believe how soft your skin feels. Then I drink the rest of the chia water. I’ve read that a normal serving daily of chia is 1-2 Tbsp. a day. I have added 1 tsp. to a serving of yogurt and you can put in smoothies, or salads and you can eat them whole or ground.

Another thing I’ve found on pinterest and I’m very curious about is coconut oil and all of its uses. I found this article today about 52 uses for coconut oil.  And then I found a recipe for DIY Coconut Oil Deodorant. Perhaps you’ve heard that most deodorants contain aluminum which is thought to contribute to breast cancer. I wanted something healthier and like the idea of making myself. This is so easy and although it only helps with the smell and not the wetness I’ve found after using it that it doesn’t make you wet at all. So this is how easy it is:

5-6 Tbsp. coconut oil (I found this at Trader Joe’s)

1/4 cup baking soda

1/4 cup corn starch or arrowroot (I used corn starch)

8-10 drops of tea tree oil (or your favorite essential oil or omit if you want)

Put all ingredients into a bowl and mix. I used a small spatula to mix and ended up with a thick frosting-like texture that was slightly drippy. I put into a glass jar with a lid and it solidified overnight. That’s it! I use my finger to put a small amount on my pits after showering. It’s not greasy from the oil and stays dry because of the corn starch I think. So happy to have this option!

And here is a recipe that I’m posting for my dear friend Michele in Hawaii, she heard me plurk that mamacita made this cake for us last night. I really enjoyed it! She got the recipe from her sister, my Aunt Angie in MN who was telling her how much she loved this cake that someone brought to a church function. We have homemade coffee liqueur so we used that in place of the Kahlua. Mamacita served it with some whipped cream.

Black Russian Cake
1 yellow cake mix
4 eggs
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup Kahlua
1 pkg. instant chocolate pudding
3/4 cup strong brewed coffee
1/4 cup vodka
Mix cake mix and all above ingredients together and put into a greased bundt pan. Bake at 350 for 50 minutes and cool.
 
Glaze:
1 cup sugar
2 Tbsp. butter
1/4 cup water 
1/4 cup rum
Put all in small saucepan on medium heat and bring to a boil, cool slightly. Poke cooled cake with skewer or chop stick or small wood spoon. Pour glaze over cake. Serve with whipped cream and sprinkled powdered sugar. Enjoy! It’s suppose to be even better the next day!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Obsessed

  1. Thank you for sharing the link to my 52 Uses post! The link love is much appreciated! :) I keep meaning to whip up a batch of homemade deodorant and I keep forgetting! I’ve been using a non-toxic kind for years, so I’m happy about that, but it would be SO much easier to just make it myself! :)

A comment is much appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

